Skip to main content

Melissa Allen

Melissa Allen

Department of History
Staff Assistant III

Phone: 435-797-1300
Email: melissa.allen@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 323

Tom Arnold

Tom Arnold

Department of History
Visiting Assistant Professor - Modern Europe, World History, WWII, Modern Germany, Environmental History, Urban History, Pop Culture, Military History, The Holocaust

Phone: 435-797-1296
Email: tom.arnold@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 321 E

Philip Barlow

Philip Barlow

Department of History
Professor - Religious Studies, American Religious History, Mormonism, Religion, History and "Time," Religion and Human Suffering, Biblical Studies

Phone: (435) 797-3406
Email: philip.barlow@usu.edu

John Barton

John Barton

Department of History
Principal Lecturer - American History, Western American History, Utah History, American Indian History, Colonial History

Phone: (435) 722-1734
Email: john.barton@usu.edu

Clayton Brown

Clayton Brown

Department of History
Assistant Professor - Ancient and modern China, WWII in Asia, China's Cultural Revolution, and the Vietnam War.

Phone: (435) 722-1772
Email: Clayton.Brown@usu.edu
Office Location: Bingham Research Center 221K

Jonathan Brunstedt

Jonathan Brunstedt

Department of History
Assistant Professor - Modern Europe, Russia and the Soviet Union, Second World War, Modern Germany, Eastern Europe, Cold War, Ideology, Nationalism, and Social Memory

Phone: (435) 797-1291
Email: jonathan.brunstedt@usu.edu

Kyle Bulthuis

Kyle Bulthuis

Department of History
Assistant Professor - Colonial America, American Revolution, early American Republic, religious experience, race and slavery Research Interests

Phone: (435) 797-1213
Email: kyle.bulthuis@usu.edu

Susan Cogan

Susan Cogan

Department of History
Assistant Professor - Early Modern European history

Phone: (435) 797-1106
Email: Susan.Cogan@usu.edu

Christopher Conte

Christopher Conte

Department of History
Associate Professor - Africa, Environmental History

Phone: (435) 797-1303
Email: chris.conte@usu.edu

Lawrence Culver

Lawrence Culver

Department of History
Associate Professor - Environmental History, Urban History, Southwest Borderlands History, American West

Phone: (435) 797-3101
Email: lawrence.culver@usu.edu

Mark Damen

Mark Damen

Department of History
Professor - Ancient Drama, Ancient History, Latin and Greek Languages

Email: mark.damen@usu.edu

Julia Gossard

Julia Gossard

Department of History
Assistant Professor - Early Modern Europe & World (proficient in Medieval & Modern as well); French History; Social History; History of Childhood, Children, & Youth; Gender & Sexuality; History of Education; History of Social Reform; Atlantic History

Phone: 435-797-0870
Email: julia.gossard@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 321 L

Victoria Grieve

Victoria Grieve

Department of History
Associate Professor - Modern U.S., American West, Cultural History, Visual Culture

Phone: (435) 797-0145
Email: victoria.grieve@usu.edu

Ravi Gupta

Ravi Gupta

Department of History
Professor/ Professor - World Religions, Hinduism, Interfaith dialogue, Religion in performance

Phone: (435) 797-1196
Email: ravi.gupta@usu.edu

Monica Ingold

Monica Ingold

Department of History
Business Assistant I

Phone: 435-797-1290
Email: monica.ingold@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 323

Norman Jones

Norman Jones

Department of History
Professor - Early modern Europe, history of Christianity

Phone: (435) 797-1293
Email: norm.jones@usu.edu

David Rich Lewis

David Rich Lewis

Department of History
Professor - American History, American Indian, American West, Utah, Environment, Rural

Phone: 435-797-1299
Email: david.r.lewis@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 321 F

Daniel McInerney

Daniel McInerney

History
Professor - Slavery and antislavery, the art and science of memory, U.S. cultural history

Phone: 435-797-1283
Email: daniel.mcinerney@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 323H

Robert McPherson

Robert McPherson

History
Professor - Native American and Four Corners history and culture.

Phone: 435-678-8140
Email: bob.mcpherson@usu.edu
Office Location: USU-CEU

Robert Mueller

Robert Mueller

History
Associate Professor - Medieval and Early Modern Europe - European Renaissance and Reformation - British History - American Popular Culture

Phone: Phone: (435) 797-9929
Email: robert.mueller@usu.edu

Susan Neel

Susan Neel

Department of History
Associate Professor - U. S. history since 1877; environmental history; America in the 1960s

Phone: 435-609-6593
Email: susan.neel@usu.edu
Office Location: USU-Eastern

Kathi Nehls

Kathi Nehls

Department of History
Post Doctoral Fellow - U.S. History 19th/20th c., U.S. West, Women’s and Gender, Environment, Native American

Phone: 435-609-6593
Email: kathi.nehls@usu.edu
Office Location: USU Easter

Colleen O'Neill

Colleen O'Neill

Department of History
Associate Professor - American History, American Indian History, Gender and Western History

Phone: 435-797-1297
Email: colleen.oneill@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 321I

Chuck  Oughton

Chuck Oughton

Department of History
Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow in History and Classics - Latin and Greek Language and Literature, Ancient History, Language Pedagogy

Phone: 435-797-1298
Email: chuck.oughton@usu.edu

Tammy Proctor

Tammy Proctor

Department of History
Department Head - Modern European history, gender, youth, imperialism, First World War

Phone: 435-797-8452
Email: tammy.proctor@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 323A

Danielle Ross

Danielle Ross

Department of History
Assistant Professor - Islam, Central Asia, South Asia, Middle East, Colonialism, Revolution

Phone: 435-797-3791
Email: danielle.ross@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 323I

James Sanders

James Sanders

Department of History
Professor - Nation and State Formation, Race and Racism, Popular Politics, Democracy, Capitalism

Phone: 435-797-1294
Email: james.sanders@usu.edu

Karen Senaga

Karen Senaga

Department of History
Post Doctoral Teaching Fellow - 20th Century United States, African American History, Labor, Food, Agricultural and Environmental History

Phone: 435-797-1297
Email: karen.senaga@usu.edu
Office Location: Main 321I

Susan Shapiro

Susan Shapiro

Department of History
Associate Professor - Herodotus, Greek intellectual history, Catullus, classical reception

Phone: 435-797-2091
Email: susan.o.shapiro@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 323D

Dominic Sur

Dominic Sur

Department of History
Visiting Professor of Religious Studies - Asian intellectual and cultural history, literature, and philosophy

Phone: 435-797-9058
Email: dominic.sur@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 321M

Jeannie Sur

Jeannie Sur

Department of History
Intern Outreach Coordinator

Phone: 435-797-1301
Email: jeannie.sur@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 321E

Frances Titchener

Frances Titchener

Department of History
Professor - Ancient history, Latin and Greek language, and ancient biography

Phone: 435-797-1298
Email: frances.titchener@usu.edu
Office Location: Old Main 310

Joseph P. Ward

Joseph P. Ward

History
Professor - Social and cultural history of early modern England, with a focus on London.

Phone: 435-797-1195
Email: joe.ward@usu.edu